Home News & Circulars Appointment of the Education Board Members 2016 – 2019

Appointment of the Education Board Members 2016 – 2019



The Chairman of the Africa Federation, Alhaj Shabir Najafi is pleased to appoint Alhaj Tehsin Takim as the Chairman of the Africa Federation Education Board for the term 2016 – 2019.

Brief Profile

Tehsin completed his primary and secondary education in Dar es Salaam, culminating with the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma.  He pursued his BA (Hon) in Political Science from the University of Toronto, followed by an MSc in Regional and Urban Planning from the London School of Economics, UK.  He has business interests in the Travel and Tourism sector, as well as being a public speaking coach.  He has served on numerous Government Boards including the Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority Consumer Council, the National College of Tourism Board of Advisors, and National Museum of Tanzania Advisory Council.

He began his services to the Community in the early 1990s, as a student of Public Speaking at the Debating Society of Husseini Madressah in Dar es Salaam.  Upon completing the course, he went on to serve as Treasurer, and then Chairman of Debating Society.  He credits these opportunities to his ongoing interests in public speaking; he is an articulate English speaker and eloquent orator.

Tehsin has also served on the Jaffery Islamic Youth Committee in Toronto, as well as numerous ad-hoc committees for Dar es Salaam Jamaat over the years.

He has been part of the AFED Education Board since 2008, first as a member, and later as the Vice Chairman. He is passionate about this portfolio, and is committed to the recognition of Education as a key-focus area with renewed synergies and dynamism over the coming term in office.

The following have been appointed members of the Board:

Mohamed F. Sumar                Vice Chairman
Farhan Yusuf                         Hon. Secretary
Samir Habib                          Member
Sajjad Karamsi                      Member
Shama Dewji                         Member
Mehdiya Sheriff                      Member
Sajida Master                        Administrative Secretary

The AFED Secretariat extends its heartiest congratulations to Tehsin bhai and his entire team on their appointments and wishes them every success in achieving the vision and the goals set out for the Board for the term 2016-2019.

Alihassan Kassam
Hon. Asst Secretary